Observatory

View the sun, moon, stars and planets through our high quality telescopes. Explore the sky with the assistance of volunteers from the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC) Edmonton Centre.

The Observatory is located in Coronation Park, just southeast of
TELUS World of Science.

There is no charge for admission.

Astronomy Information - please click on the link to the left.

February 2015 Observatory Hours

Friday, February 6

  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Saturday, February 7

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Sunday, February 8

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Friday, February 13

  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Saturday, February 14

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Sunday, February 15

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Friday, February 20

  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Saturday, February 21

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Sunday, February 22

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Friday, February 27

  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Saturday, February 28

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Sunday, March 1

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Observatory hours are weather dependant

  • Temperatures must be above -10 degrees Celsius (including wind chill).
  • Skies must be clear and not cloudy.
  • Visitors can call the Box Office at 780-451-3344 an hour prior to visiting the Observatory to confirm that it will be open.

Observatory hours of operation may change to accommodate special astronomical events.