Observatory

View the sun, moon, stars and planets through our high quality telescopes. Explore the sky with the assistance of volunteers from the Edmonton Chapter of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada (RASC).

The Observatory is located in Coronation Park, just southeast of
TELUS World of Science.

There is no charge for admission.

Astronomy Information - please click on the link to the left.

September 2014 Observatory Hours

Friday, September 6

  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Saturday, September 7

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm

Sunday, September 8

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Friday, September 12

  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Saturday, September 13

  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Sunday, September 14

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Friday, September 19

  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Saturday, September 20

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Sunday, September 21

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Friday, September 26

  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Saturday, September 27

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Sunday, September 28

  • 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
  • 7:00 pm - 10:00 pm

Observatory hours are weather dependant

  • Temperatures must be above -10 degrees Celsius (including wind chill).
  • Skies must be clear and not cloudy.
  • Visitors can call the Box Office at 780-451-3344 an hour prior to visiting the Observatory to confirm that it will be open.

Observatory hours of operation may change to accommodate special astronomical events.